Married Life // 3 Month Review

3 Months of Marriage

I love married life with my sweet, sweet husband. Steven is kind, caring, and thoughtful. He is hard working and dedicated to God, his job, his family, and our marriage. The graces of marriage are flowing. I wanted to share what I have learned thus far in our short, short 3 months of married bliss.

Month 1

  • I need to be more of a Mary and less of a Martha.
  • Being a great cook is not a requirement to being an excellent wife.

Month 2

  • The importance of three things: daily affirmation, daily prayer, and sharing feelings with each other.
  • The importance of vulnerability.
  • The importance of mindfulness and recognizing my feelings in the moment.

Month 3

  • I have to go to sleep before him. Some couples can head to bed at the same time, but that is not us. I’ll just talk and talk and talk and then we ever sleep.
  • It’s really fun to buy stocking stuffers for your husband.
  • It’s impossible to hide Christmas presents from your husband in a tiny apartment. Also, he guesses all of his Christmas presents and I’m a terrible liar when I say, “Nope, that isn’t what I bought.” He sees right through me. Life isn’t fair sometimes, ha.

That’s a wrap! Thus far we have been very blessed. Our marriage prep was SO solid. Saint Mary Catholic Church does a great job with preparing couples for the sacrament. For that we are eternally grateful. I have so many parts of the preparation that I loved, but I especially enjoyed our Natural Family Planning classes and our Catholic Engaged Encounter retreat. Both helped us to slow down, take a break from the planning, and learn to love each other and God in a deeper way. More on that soon 😉

What lessons did you learn when you were first married? What was your favorite part of marriage preparation?

blog name logo

Linking up with Little by Little and Thoughtful Thursdays

6 thoughts on “Married Life // 3 Month Review

  1. Alonda says:

    More of a Mary and less of a Martha – that’s what I am working on too. And I’ve been married 3 years! We never stop learning that’s for sure!

    Like

    • lovethebachers says:

      Yes! I was chatting with a priest and he kept reassuring me there will be plenty of opportunities to be a Martha once (God willing) we welcome new life into the world… so for now, I need to enjoy being like our Blessed Mother!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. christinaherr1 says:

    Hi there! Found your post via The Peony Project on fb. How sweet to hear you talk of your love for your new husband! What you talk about for month 2: daily prayer—amen! We’ve been married for almost 10 years, and during any times we haven’t set our hearts as a couple toward God, there is greater disconnect between us. The closer you are to God, the closer He will allow you to be to each other! Best of luck to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lovethebachers says:

    Absolutely! We have a set time each night to pray as a couple. I’m thankful we established the pattern super early on in our dating, so it’s made the transition so much easier in marriage. It’s so nice to be able to pray in person versus on the phone or FaceTme, etc. I’m loving that so much! Thank you for stopping by ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

