Oh Hey, Friday! #1

Five on Friday… ready, go!

ONE

Steven and I went to Dave’s Cosmic Subs for dinner on Tuesday and then did a bit of Christmas shopping at The Learned Owl, a great little bookshop in my hometown of Hudson, Ohio. We managed to find some amazing presents and we were super happy we could shop locally for our family members.

IMG_3493

TWO

I run the Edge Junior High Youth Ministry where I work and Thursday we had our Advent/early Christmas party with the kids. My sweet high schooler, Beth, helps me run it and she dressed up like an elf – seriously, she is too sweet. The kids were a little wild and it left me pretty exhausted afterwards, but it was a great and fun afternoon.

IMG_3499

THREE

I have been on the lookout for stockings for Steven and I. I have been struggling to find ones that I love. I didn’t want to settle and buy them just to buy them, you know? Today I finally found some great ones at Kohl’sand I am just over the moon excited about them. I might have sent Steven 20 text messages about my excitement… oops 😉 I was also SUPER productive today – I went to the chiropractor, bank, gas station, AAA, Kohl’s, Target, TJ Maxx, Old Navy, Big Lots, and now I’m relaxing at the Stow Public Library writing this post. Busy bee! It feels nice to just sit and unwind.

FOUR

I bought Steven some stocking stuffers today at Grismer’s Christian Gifts. They don’t have a website to show you, but they have some great locations around Northeast, Ohio and I greatly recommend checking them out. I am a big fan of the Stow, Ohio location- mostly because they know me by name there #frequentshopper

For Christmas this year, I wanted to try the “want, need, wear, read” tradition for my dear husband. The read part was the trickiest, because he is not a big book reader (maybe one day I’ll convert him) and I couldn’t find any solid magazines I thought were worth spending the money on, but today I realized how much we LOVE prayer cards and novena books, so I bought a few for stocking stuffers. I am officially finished shopping for him! Hooray.

FIVE

I have been loving Ann Voskamp‘s daily Advent reflections on Facebook. Today she wrote, “I will let every flood of stress today be an invitation to get into the ark of my Savior.” How beautiful. I believe that is something we can all take to prayer.

Have a great weekend, friends!

blog name logo

4 thoughts on “Oh Hey, Friday! #1

  1. Kaycie Vanden Top says:

    so fun! 🙂 I have been trying to find stocking for my fiance and I too, even though we don’t need them until next year. I think maybe I’ll just wait and buy them after Christmas when they’re on sale 🙂 I love shopping local, and I am so glad that you had fun buying things that way for your family! thanks for sharing this super fun post! 🙂

    Like

  2. Sheridan Johnson says:

    I love shopping local as well! My small town in Texas, is definitely growing in that department! Men are sometimes so hard to find good gifts for, and I think that prayer cards and other small gift ideas, sound perfect! Sounds like you had a great week! 🙂

    Like

    • lovethebachers says:

      Thanks for stopping by! It’s great that your hometown is growing with small businesses- it’s so inspiring watching shop owners pursue their dreams and being able to support them. Have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

