#31: Start a family tradition

5

We’ve almost made it through the whole month, friends! Can you believe Thanksgiving is this week? Today I am sharing with you how I made it through another of my 101 in 1001 goals.

Steven and I have talked a lot about creating traditions in our first year of marriage. Thanksgiving was a great place to start for us! It is one of my favorite days. I actually have been surprised how much I am coming to love November. It is such a positive, happy, grateful month!

November can get busy quickly and Steven and I knew we wanted to make time for each other. Tonight we are going to a Turkey Bowl and tomorrow we are headed to celebrate with each of our families after the Cleveland Turkey Trot.

When we started to plan our our week, we knew we did not want to be stressed, so we tried to slow down and intentionally plan our week. We wanted to create a special tradition for just the two of us. I went on Pinterest and searched blogs for ideas, but nothing seemed to stick. We are pretty simple people and all the ideas were beautiful, but just not us. You know?

thanksgiving3

SO… we bought a little 2 pound chicken, asparagus, and ravioli at the West Side Market in Cleveland and had a little Thanksgiving dinner just the two of us. I enjoyed cooking for my sweet, sweet husband. It was nice to decorate the table and enjoy slowing down to eat together. We had thankful placemats, a tiny pumpkin, our  crucifix from Poland that we held while we said our vows, and our Engaged Encounter candle.

After dinner we made two pies! First we made a pumpkin pie and then we made an apple pie. Someone had gifted us all of the apple pie making supplies as a wedding present, so it was really fun for us to make those together. We are bringing them to the Bacher Thanksgiving meal tomorrow. I’m excited to try the apple one!thanksgiving2

There you have it – our own little tradition. Every year, though we love our families, we want to make sure we take time for ourselves to celebrate together (hopefully with our own kiddos one day!)

Also, I forgot to mention… I had S clean out the inside of the little chicken and cut it up 😉 Marriage is about compromise, am I right?

Have a great Thanksgiving, my sweet friends!

blog name logo

Linking up with To Travel and BeyondMessy Marriage and Women With Intention Wednesdays.

6 thoughts on “#31: Start a family tradition

  1. messymarriage says:

    How sweet, Mary! I just love hearing about the new traditions and holiday “firsts” that a newlywed couple gets to experience together. Thank you for sharing a peek into your Thanksgiving celebration. And thanks for joining Wedded Wed! I hope you come back around every week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovethebachers says:

      Thank you! It seems silly since we have dinner together at least 3 times a week (I work a lot of nights for youth ministry), but we didn’t want to lose out on a special Thanksgiving dinner with my new bunny. ❤ it was so special.

      Like

Leave a Reply

