#20: Lose 15 Pounds

5 (1)

When Steven proposed, I was at my highest ever weight. I am only 5’2″ so I have to be super careful about what I put into my body. When I moved home from Virginia to Ohio, I wasn’t walking through Radford’s campus as much and my lifestyle became a bit more sedentary. I knew I needed to make a few changes prior to the wedding so that I could feel extra beautiful in my wedding dress and be the best version of myself possible. I am proud to share that I not only lost 15 pounds – I lost 17! I am now at a pleasant 135 pounds and I feel more at peace with my health, life, and self confidence level. I also felt stunning in my wedding gown, so all of these little changes were well worth it!

Little Changes

  1. I cut out all processed sugar. Anyone who knows me is well aware of my love for Green Tea Frappuccino, cookies, cupcakes, and Coca Cola. I became better at reading nutrition labels and I paused before picking up a sweet treat from our secretary at work (she has the best stash of chocolates… sigh!) I have slowly started eating sweets again, but I have been impressed at my willpower and a lot of my cravings for sweets have subsided. 
  1. I started eating more fruits and vegetables (even KALE!) Steven got a blender for Christmas last year and he started making me smoothies every single day for lunch. Today I had spinach, strawberries, mango, and banana. Yum! Never before in my life would I have thought that would be a delicious combo, but I have been training…er… tricking my taste-buds and drinking the smoothies each day.
  1. I bought a FitBit and challenged myself to walk 7,000 steps a day. I especially loved this goal, because it challenged me to park further away, walk upstairs at work to get copies, mossy around the church during the day, and go to the farthest possible bathroom. These little challenges I played with myself allowed me to be competitive and achieve high goals. Just as an FYI – the daily recommended amount of steps is 10,000, but because of fibromyalgia I have to be careful of overexerting myself and making my pain worse.

Since I do have fibromyalgia, I am unable to do most exercises (especially running or anything high impact), but I went to THREE personal training sessions which taught me healthy exercises I could do on my own that work with my illness and not against it. I left the sessions feeling inspired and uplifted. I also met with my chiropractor, who is a nutritionist, and she supplied me with Calcium, Vitamin D, and a daily multi-vitamin. These have helped me to feel energized and healthy as well.

I wanted to find little ways to change my health and still incorporate an element of fitness, even if that was 7k steps a day and small workouts. I think I found a happy balance! 🙂 I am proud to report that the weight I lost, I have kept off!

My advice would be:

  1. Love yourself.

  2. Ask for wisdom and courage from God to start.

  3. Start anywhere.

  4. Start small.

You, my beloved sister, are beautiful and loved JUST the way you are. You are more than a number on a scale. You are more than your weight loss – or weight gaining – journey. You are a child of God and that comes first before all things. If you are on this weight loss journey, fully rely on God. Allow Him to fill the desires of your heart first. Remember no amount of weight loss will help Him love you more than He does right now at this moment. You are so precious and gorgeous in His eyes (and in mine!) Stay strong, ladies. The temptations are tough out there, but our God is bigger than it all.

“Have patience with all things, But, first of all with yourself.” Saint Francis de Sales

blog name logo

Holly Barrett
10 thoughts on “#20: Lose 15 Pounds

    • lovethebachers says:

      Thank you for the kind compliment. Gosh it’s so easy to get focused on the goal and forget the tiny steps to reach it. Thank goodness for God’s guidance 😉

      Like

  1. Mama Bear says:

    Hey, I’m 5’2 as well! And you’re absolutely right, our height does make even 5lbs seem more. So, congrats on the weight loss! I’ve been reading “The Daniel Plan” and it is very similar to what you talk about. Making small changes over time, moving throughout the day, and eating real food. They start adding up, and the weight keeps coming off!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovethebachers says:

      Gosh- yes! I’m glad there are people out there who understand the struggle. I have never heard of that book, but I am going to look it up. Blessings!

      Like

  2. Sheila says:

    Hi Mary~
    I am always so encouraged by others sharing a struggle with I have dealt with for a long time. I recently blogged about my journey with the Whole30 and I agree that giving up processed sugar was the best thing I have ever done for my body! My experience became so much more than about food, but my journey with God. Many Blessings to you and keep on pressing on!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovethebachers says:

      It’s so nice to hear from someone who can relate. I love to eat! I’ve heard so many wonderful comments about the Whole30. I’m going to check out your post!

      Like

    • lovethebachers says:

      Gosh- YES! It’s like the dress gives us so much motivation haha and then as soon as we wear it and feel great, it’s so easy to fall back after the honeymoon. I know that well!

      Like

  3. Kaycie Vanden Top says:

    This is great! I need to lose some weight too before my wedding. These are great tips and ideas! Thanks for sharing! My mom also has fibromyalgia, so I understand (kinda) the pain that can come with it from seeing how much it affects her! Way to go for not letting it get in your way! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

