#THECIRCLELINKUP // Thankful Poem

As a new blogger, I have been on the search of some beautiful link-ups to join in with. So far my life has been truly blessed by the link-ups I have found, and I am confident this one with be no different! Today I am joining in with In Its TimeWhat Joy is Mine and Radical Femininity to share my THANKFUL acrostic poem!

T – Teamwork

It takes a village to raise a child, am I right? I take my role as a Youth Minister very seriously. I see each child as a beautiful daughter or son of the Lord and strive every day to pray for them and remind them how loved they are. It takes a whole lot of teamwork with parents, Core Staff members, priests, peers, and parishioners to help my teens on their journey to Heaven. I am thankful to have so many saintly people helping me on this youth ministry journey.

H – Holiness

I see holiness all around me. I see it in my coworkers, my friends, and my family. I am walking this journey to sainthood with individuals who are put God first in their daily lives and that holiness inspires and uplifts me each and every day.

A – Affirmation

I am thankful for the gift of affirmation. I am a HUGE fan of The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman. In his book, he explains how each of us gives and receives love in unique ways. There are five categories of love languages: words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time, and physical touch. I receive love through words of affirmation. After last weekends retreat, I loved hearing how much teens enjoyed the weekend. I appreciated the thank you notes from parents, the sweet text messages from teens, and the email from the retreat center thanking us for being so kind and respectful. For me, receiving words of affirmation conveys love in such a simple, beautiful way.

N – Nourishment 

I am thankful for the nourishment that comes from the Word of God and from the Holy Eucharist we receive at Sunday Mass (and weekday Mass, too!) I have become a big fan of reading the Blessed is She Devotions each morning. Reading the daily scriptures, then reading the reflections of holy women leaves me centered and ready to begin my day.

K – Knowledge 

Our semester theme for Life Teen was vocations. Each Sunday night we learned about a different topic: marriage, holy orders, discernment, and single life (to name a few). I am thankful for the knowledgable individuals who came to guest speak. I could not have done it without holy friends who offered their time and energy to help my teens grow closer to the Lord.

F – Forgiveness 

YES! How could I not mention this? I am thankful to my Lord for forgiving me through the Sacrament of Reconciliation and I am thankful to my husband for forgiving me when I am short with him or struggling to understand where he is coming from. We all need mercy and forgiveness in our lives.

U – Unity

I am thankful for the unity of being husband and wife. Steven loves sports and athletics, while I really enjoying blogging and journaling. Although we have differences, we come together as a unified front to support each other 100%. Our time apart exploring our own interests allows us to grow as faithful individuals. Steven uses his time running and cycling to pray and admire the beauty of God in nature, while I find God through reading amazing blog posts and pouring my heart into my little journal. When we come together, we are more unified and stronger Christians.

L – Laughter

Working with teens = constant laughter. Last night at youth ministry our topic was discernment. We had the teens separate into two groups – boys and girls – and had them come up with lists of the big and little decisions they make each day. The girls immediately said, “flats or boots.” ha! Seriously, though… I ask myself that every fall morning. Spending time with my young friends means constant laughter and joy!

blog name logo

14 thoughts on “#THECIRCLELINKUP // Thankful Poem

  1. theperfectedmess says:

    This was so thoughtful and I loved how you laid the post out! I’ve thought about getting involved with the youth in a local church in my area. The church we usually go to is an hour away and the travel is getting a bit too much! Loved your post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Branson says:

    This is beautiful! My husband and I do small group ministry for teens (and I coordinate the overall program for our congregation) so I am always encouraged to see caring youth workers sharing their love for teens!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lovethebachers says:

      Thank you for the sweet compliment! I really loved this prompt. It was so nice to slow down and reflect on the letters. There are so many blessings to be thankful for 🙂

      Like

  3. Kiki says:

    How could I forget laughter? I wish I had thought of that one because it really and truly is so important in life. 🙂 Thank you for linking up! I loved getting to know you better as I read through your poem–how cool is it that you’re a Youth Minister? Keep on loving those students you love and serve. Just from reading this post, I know they’re lucky to have you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

