#BISsisterhood Link-Up // Communion of Saints

5 (13)
“I suffered a lot but my soul was singing!”

I’m joining in with the #BISsisterhood Link-Up today to share with you about Blessed Chiara Luce Badano. As we approach the feast of All Saints this weekend, it is a wonderful time to pause and remember the legacy of this soon-to-be-saint dressed in blue jeans.

3ed3c1e21b6f71d51d33cfe484bb0e11

I first fell in love with Chiara when I found out she failed math in high school and loved to wear blue jeans. Hello,soul sister! Then as I read more, I found a best friend in her.

Chiara was born in 1974 in Sassello, Italy. She loved to sing, hike, play tennis, and spend time with friends. She was a very simple, kind-hearted young teenager who kept Jesus at the very center of her life. She even referred to him as her “spouse” and consistently attended daily mass.

One day while playing tennis, Chiara felt a felt a sharp pain in her shoulder. Soon after the incident she was diagnosed with osteosarcoma, an aggressive form of bone cancer. When she became ill, she said, “For you, Jesus. If you want it, I want it too” and continued to put her faith in Him.

She is a prime example of love and suffering. She continually gave her pain to Jesus, trusting in His will and timing, up until the moment of her death in 1990. Her life, love, and light shows me how to lay my suffering down at the feet of the cross. I do not have to bear any of my suffering alone. We do not have to bear our suffering alone!

Come, holy spirit, teach us how to live more like Blessed Chiara!

blog name logo

10997247_10204899699185095_607975250_n_zpssx9ef3kd (1)

4 thoughts on “#BISsisterhood Link-Up // Communion of Saints

  1. AnneMarie says:

    Thanks for writing about Blessed Chiara!!! I never knew who she was until a couple friends named their baby girls Chiara a few years ago. She is so cool, but I feel like I always forget about her, and people rarely talk about her life! I also totally love that she failed math 🙂 (math and I are NOT friends haha)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

